An open letter to my sun

It’s been a month since you left us, and there’s never a day I don’t miss you. I can still remember what I felt at that time. The sorrow. The regrets. My world turned upside down, and I couldn’t accept your death. I cried for many nights, blamed myself, and engulfed myself with negativity. I prayed to God every day. I prayed with my hands clasped tightly to each other, begging God to return you to me. With tears, I closed my eyes. I stayed like that for a long time. I was hoping that my feelings and pleas would reach heaven. I could feel the shaking of my fingers. I was hoping you would be there in front of me once I opened my eyes. I kept saying, “Now what? How will I continue?” I felt empty, and only you could complete me. I stayed like that for many days until God let you visit me again. God rewrote our last memory with a newer memory. Since that day, I felt complete once again.

I am forever grateful for that experience. God taught me once again that He alone can make me complete. And our last memory is what keeps me from crumbling. It is like a chain that binds us together.

While writing this letter, I am confident to say that I am better now. I might feel lonely sometimes, but I promise you I won’t feel remorseful anymore. I know you’re always with me. Wherever you are, rest assured that we will always do our best to stand strong. Your memories will be with us always. Your teachings will forever be engraved in my heart.

Thank you for everything. Thank you for being my sunshine since I was small. My childhood world used to revolve around you, you were always there beside me. I am happy that I spent most of my childhood with you. I know I can’t feel your warmth anymore, but your sunshine will forever warms my heart.

I love you. ♡♡♡

𝐿𝑜𝓋𝑒, 𝒩𝒶𝑜𝓂𝒾

Leave a comment